Updating the Equipment.

When I sat down in the office today I dove right into research after reading and working out my reply to a very talented graphic / web designer that I want to hire for my next website. If you’re looking for a complete overhaul for your site, I suggest clicking the above link and exploring your options.

After my reply was sent off I was off on a thinking frenzy about glass. I am dissatisfied with my camera bag, it’s long overdue for an update. Perhaps it’s the to-do list waiting for me, or the crazy sunshine getting to my head but I dove right into research.

*Photo stock from google. Not MSP property.*

The camera I’m aiming for is amazing and far out of my price range right now; I have a few options picked out in the Canon Mark series.

Though most the glass I have in mind ranges close to the price of a new camera, the thought occurred to me that I don’t have any pieces that would do a new camera justice.

Another perk to updating your glass before your camera is the new life it will breathe into your photo’s, possibly delaying your need / desire for a new body all together. Allowing you time to save for an even better model!

*Photo borrowed from Lensbaby. EDGE 80 optic.*

I noticed Lensbaby had some new optics out so I started here for their cost friendly solutions. The one that caught my eye first in an advertisement… (in my e-mail… this is how it all started, now it comes to me) was the EDGE 80 optic.

Now for my research which includes a Pinterest board that will be ever expanding, I specified portrait glass. I have a great versatile lens that is good for landscapes but the bread and butter comes from portraits. The advantage to lenses for portraits is they usually aid to great artistic works when used outside the “intended” field. My prime lens (50mm) is my best friend. Someday I would love to upgrade it to a fancier model as I currently own the modest version.

I’m on a real prime kick lately despite my next purchase being a Zoom. The prime I have right now is serving me well, also it’s upgraded model is a third the cost of a new body. The zoom lens that would be greatly beneficial to me is much cheaper despite it’s versatility.

*Photo stock from google.*

I’m excited to get my tax returns so I can start on my new glass venture. I’m going to be listing a lens for sale, and possibly a canon up-close filter. The piece I’ll be letting go is my telephoto 58mm, EF 55-250mm. Great condition.

I hope my board was of use to some of you. Good luck on your own equipment updates and your plans in funding them. I suggest doing research specified towards your fields of interest in photography. What do you shoot the most? I bought for what I wanted to shoot and less for what I could shoot… it’s left me with a lot of thing’s I have no real need for and will be letting to go make room for great new toys!

Leave a Reply

